Do Picture In Your Head What It Is You’re Animating

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Neither acting nor attitude could be portrayed without paying very close attention to Timing” – Frank and Ollie (THE ILLUSION OF LIFE). I’ve been studying timing charts, I have never used them before in my own animation. But I am quickly beginning to see how effective this method can be to help with timing and spacing. In 3D you don’t necessarily need timing charts, but I’ve learned to by going back over my animation to track the arcs will help with the complicated decision of timing and spacing.

Here are a few frames I’ve tracked over to follow the arcs of the motion. Frame taken from FilmStruck’s clip of THE RED SHOES (1948).

Leave a Reply

